Mauritius: Signature of Pelindaba Treaty

State Mauritius
Treaty Pelindaba Treaty
Action Type Signature
Depositary African Union Commission
Date 11 April 1996

Declaration (extract from Chapter XI ("Miscellaneous"), Section 111 ("Interpretation") of the Constitution of the Republic of Mauritius):

"Mauritius" includes -



(a) the Islands of Mauritius, Rodrigues, Agalega, Tromelin, Cargados Carajos and the Chagos Archipelago, including Diego Garcia and any other island comprised in the State of Mauritius;
(b) the territorial sea and the air space above the territorial sea and the islands specified in paragraph (a);
(c) the continental shelf; and
(d) such places or areas as may be designated by regulations made by the Prime-Minister, rights over which are or may become exercisable by Mauritius;
Note on African Union resolution:
AHG/Res. 99 (XVII)
The Assembly of Heads of State and Government of the Organization of African Unity meeting at its 17th Ordinary Session in Freetown, Sierra Leone from 1 to 4 July 1980,
Pursuant to article I, para 2, of the Charter of the Organization of African Unity, which stipulates “The Organization shall include the Continental African States, Madagascar and other islands surrounding Africa”,
Considering that one of the fundamental principles of the Organization is the “respect for the sovereignty and territorial integrity of each state”,
Aware of the fact that Diego Garcia has always been an integral part of Mauritius, a Member State of the OAU,
Recognising that Diego Garcia was not ceded to Britain for military purposes,
Realising the militarization of Diego Garcia is a threat to Africa, and to the Indian Ocean as a zone of peace,
DEMANDS that Diego Garcia be unconditionally returned to Mauritius and that its peaceful character be maintained.



Other Actions Ratification on deposit with African Union — 24 April 1996