Liechtenstein: Accession to Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT)

State Liechtenstein
Treaty Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT)
Action Type Accession
Depositary Government of the United Kingdom
Date 20 April 1978
Recalling that the aim of the Treaty is to prevent those States which do not possess nuclear weapons from manufacturing or acquiring such arms and other nuclear explosive devices, Liechtenstein accedes to the Treaty in the belief that its provisions are directed solely towards the attainment of that aim and will not have the effect of limiting the use of nuclear energy for other purposes.
Availing itself of the opportunity afforded by the deposit of its instruments of accession, Liechtenstein makes the following declaration:
1.  Liechtenstein recalls that, according to Article IV, research, production and use for peaceful purposes in the nuclear sector do not come within the scope of the prohibitions in Articles I and II.  Such activities include in particular the whole field of energy production and allied operations, research and technology in the sector of future generations of nuclear fission or fusion reactors and the production of isotopes.
2.  Liechtenstein defines the expression "source and special fissionable material", used in Article III, in accordance with the present Article XX of the Statute of the IAEA.  Any modification of this interpretation requires Liechtenstein's formal approval. It will, furthermore, accept only those interpretations and definitions of the concepts "equipment or material specially designed or prepared for the processing, use or production of special fissionable material", mentioned in Article III, paragraph 2, which it has expressly approved.
3.  Liechtenstein understands that the application of the Treaty and in particular the control measures will not lead to any discrimination against Liechtenstein industry in international competition.
Other Actions Accession on deposit with Moscow — 20 April 1978
Accession on deposit with Washington — 20 April 1978